Crazy Times
Crazy Times
Trauma, Hysteria, & Psychogenic Illness
0:00
-24:04

Trauma, Hysteria, & Psychogenic Illness

part III

This is the 3rd of a 3 part post that walks through everything I learned throughout years of mental illness and how I came to learn it. I hope that this summary of 6 years of research and experience will help others who are sorting thru the mess of the mind. Topics in this 3 pt series include: how trauma affects the body & can mimic and even cause psychosis, how psychogenic illnesses work + my own experiences w them (paralysis, fainting episodes, movement disorders, etc), Poly Vagal Theory, the antiquated diagnosis of hysteria and it’s relevance (despite its lack of use today bc of its derogatory connotations and sexist, ridiculous history), and more.

view the referenced photos/illustrations/video examples and the written post here.

cover art
example of the scarier (“demonic-possession-looking”) movement disorders mentioned in story
example of what a doctor called “possible choreiform athetosis”—a different type of movement disorder mentioned in the audio post

0 Comments
Crazy Times
Crazy Times
These are not podcasts! just me reading the stories I write on my substack, “Crazy Times”, out loud bc they are a bit long and people don’t always have the time to sit and read :))
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Scout Hunt